Preservation Awards

Do you know of a preservation project that deserves community recognition?


This is a great way to give deserved recognition to your firm, a local business, or your wonderful neighbors for the lasting contribution they’ve made to historic Chestnut Hill!


The Chestnut Hill Historical Society’s Preservation Recognition Awards will honor projects in the following categories:

  • Preserving / protecting historic resources (in the built or natural environment),
  • Historic building restoration, rehabilitation or adaptive reuse, or
  • Good stewardship of an important building.

Eligible projects will be within the boundaries of the Chestnut Hill National Historic District on the National Register of Historic Places (virtually all of Chestnut Hill) and substantially completed no later than December 8, 2016. All projects must be carried out according to the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for the Treatment of Historic Properties.

We are accepting applications now through December 8, 2016. Awards will be presented at the CHHS Annual Meeting on January 8, 2017, and local press coverage will happen before and after.

Download the nomination form [PDF]. Submit your completed application by email to, or by mail to the address below.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact Executive Director Lori Salganicoff at or 215-247-9329 ext. 201.

Chestnut Hill Historical Society
ATTN: Preservation Awards Committee
8708 Germantown Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19118

Last year’s Preservation Awards went to Valley Green Bank for the rehabilitation of the Cresheim Valley Pergola and Arch, Stewart Graham for his stewardship of the newsstand on Germantown Avenue, and Daniel Macey and Paul Savidge for their conservation and stewardship of Louis Kahn’s Margaret Esherick House. Read more about 2015 and 2014 awarded projects in the Chestnut Hill Local.

Left to right: Louise Cohen, ASID; Kevin A. Yoder, AIA, of k YODER design; Esherick House owners Paul Savidge and Daniel Macey; CHHS Board Member Emily Cooperman; CHHS Board President Randy Williams; and CHHS Executive Director Lori Salganicoff